Rotarian Dr. Krishnananda Memorial Trophy South Indian Level Inter-State Para volleyball and Throwball Tournament


To share

Coimbatore – The Rotary Club of Coimbatore Downtown organized a South India level Interstate Para Volleyball and Throwing Tournament. The tournament named Rtn.Dr.Krishnananda Memorial Trophy was organized by Rotary Club of Coimbatore Downtown in association with Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute, Indian Paralympic Volleyball Association and Para Throwball Federation of India in memory of the late Rotary member Rtn . Dr Krishnananda.

The matches took place today at Ramakrishna Mission Vidyalaya Indoor Stadium, Periyanaickenpalayam, Mettupalayam Road, Coimbatore.

The President of the Rotary Club of Coimbatore Downtown project, Rotarian Godwin Maria Visvasam, said: “For the past four years these competitions have been held at the Coimbatore district level, but this time the competitions have been between states. He also said that national level competitions will be organized in the coming years. Players participating in this tournament will play 10 people per team. 6 players will be on the ground while 4 players will be substitutes. The Rotary Club of Coimbatore Downtown has created an international standard sports ground and appointed licensed and qualified referees.

The South India Interstate Para Volleyball and Throwing Tournament which kicked off at 10.00am today has been inaugurated

by Rtn AKS N. Sundaravadivelu, a famous lawyer from Coimbatore who was elected Governor of Rotary District 3201 for the year 2024-2025.

The guest of honor for the occasion were ICP President and Arjuna Award winner, MM Mahadeva, and the General Secretary of the Wheelchair Racing Federation of India. Others present were the father of Para Olympics, MJ Chandrasekhar was also present. Special guests for the occasion were MR Ramachandran and Secretary General, President of Para Throwball Federation of India and MR Manjunath, Senior Para Player and State Laureate, RS Maruthi, Chairman of Community Services District of District 3201 of the Rotary, Zone 5, District Director R Mailsamy, Rotary District 3201 – Zone 5, Deputy Governor Sumit Kumar Prasad, GGR Rakesh Kumar Ranga were also present.

Recognized by the Indian Paralympic organization, this para volleyball event is contested by men and thrown by women. Teams from five states – Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Puducherry participated. Points earned by players participating in this tournament will be counted towards their national eligibility.

Earlier, President NJ Sundaresan pointed out the memorial torch from Coimbatore Downtown Secretary’s office AL Kumaran at 8:00 am. The torch reached the Ramakrishna Mission Vidyalaya indoor stadium at 9:30 a.m. Chairman of the PCI and recipient of the Arjuna Shri Award. Mr. Mahadeva received and lit the torch.

In the men’s volleyball final at 4:00 p.m., the Tamilnadu team played against the Pondicherry team. The Tamilnadu team won the match.

In the second women’s ball throwing final, the Tamilandu team played against the Karnataka team. The Karnataka team won the match.

The award ceremony took place for the winning teams at 5:00 p.m.

Rotarian Dr. Krishnananda Memorial Cup, certificate recognized by Para Volleyball Association of India and cash prizes were awarded to winners of Para Volleyball Men Team Tamilnadu won 1st prize, Andra Pradesh won 2nd prize and Pondicherry won won third prize. In the men’s match, the best player award won by Santhosh Kumar of the Tamil Nadu team.

Similarly, in the women’s throwing competition, the winning team from Karnataka won the first prize, Andra Pradesh won the second prize and the Tamilnadu team won the third prize received the memorial trophy from Dr. Krishnananda and a certificate and cash prize recognized by the Volleyball Para Association of India. In the best female player award won by B. Geetha from Karnataka team.

These awards were presented by Rotarian AKS N. Sundaravadivelu. President of Rotary Club of Downtown NJ Sundaresan, Secretary Kumaran Treasurer Vignesh, Project Manager Godwin Maria Visvasam and Rotary Club Officers, Members of Rotary Club of Downtown Coimbatore, Dr. Giridharan on behalf of Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute, Indian Paralympic Volleyball Association and Para-Leaders of the Indian Ball Throwing Federation presided over the occasion.

Subscribe to our newsletter


Leave a Comment